Dr. David Whitaker, MD

Doctor, European Society of Anaesthesiology

Dr David Whitaker FRCA, FFPMRCA, FFICM, FCARCSI (Hon) Dr Whitaker is from Manchester UK and a Past President of the Association of Anaesthetists of Great Britain and Ireland (AAGBI). He is also a past Chairman of the Association of Cardiothoracic Anaesthetists (ACTA) and a past elected member of the Council of the UK Royal College of Anaesthetists and elected an Honorary Fellow of the College of Anaesthetists of Ireland. He is a member of the European Society of Anaesthesiology (ESA) Patient Safety and Quality Committee and a past member of the Quality and Safety Committee of the World Federation of Societies of Anaesthesiologists (WFSA). He is currently Chairman of the European Board of Anaesthesiology Safety Committee and in 2010 he was a co-author of the Helsinki Declaration on Patient Safety in Anaesthesiology now signed by over 200 anaesthesia related organisations worldwide. Dr Whitaker is particularly interested in implementing safer practices into Anaesthesia, Intensive Care and Pain Medicine and is currently promoting better Patient Blood Management, medication safety including the increased use of pre-filled syringes and more widespread patient monitoring outside the operating theatre e.g. continuous capnography in Intensive Care, Sedation and Resuscitation. He is also working on the EBA/ESA/ERC initiative to standardise the cardiac arrest call internal telephone number in European Hospitals to 2222.