Steven J. Barker, PhD, MD

Chief Science Officer, Masimo Corporation

Professor Emeritus of Anesthesiology, University of Arizona

Health Sciences Clinical Professor, Department of Anesthesiology

Dr. Barker received his B.S. in Physics from Harvey Mudd College in 1967, his PhD in Aeronautical Engineering from the California Institute of Technology in 1972, and his MD from the University of Miami in 1981.  He has reached the rank of tenured professor in both engineering (UCLA) and anesthesiology (UC Irvine, University of Arizona).  He chaired the Department of Anesthesiology at UC Irvine from 1990 to 1995, and then at the University of Arizona from 1995 to 2013.  He has published over 200 scholarly works, including 15 textbook chapters.  Dr. Barker has served as president of the national organization of anesthesiology department chairs (AAPD) and of the Society for Technology in Anesthesia (STA), senior oral examiner for the American Board of Anesthesiology, and Section Editor for Technology for the journal Anesthesia and Analgesia.

During his 18-year tenure as anesthesiology chair at the University of Arizona, Dr. Barker was active in a number of governance roles outside of his department.  He served as the hospital Director of Perioperative Services from 1996 through 2000.  He was Chair of the Council of Clinical Department Heads from 2000 through 2003, and then chair of the clinical department heads working group.  He served seven years as the American Society of Anesthesiologists Director for Academic Anesthesiology, representing all university anesthesiology departments at the ASA.  Dr. Barker has been a productive academician, and has also participated actively in governance and administration at local, state, and national levels.  He is now Professor Emeritus of Anesthesiology at the University of Arizona, and Chief Science Officer for Masimo Corporation.

In November 2015, Dr. Barker received the Lifetime Achievement Award from IAMPOV (Innovations and Applications of Monitoring Perfusion, Oxygenation, and Ventilation), “for championing the development of vitally important monitoring technologies and associated testing.”   In January 2016, he received the J.S. Gravenstein Award from the Society for Technology in Anesthesia, “for his visionary understanding of the role of technology in anesthesia care and lifetime commitment to patient safety.”  In April 2016, he received the “Distinguished Alumni Award” from Harvey Mudd College.