Howard Schapiro, MD, MS

Dr. Howard Schapiro is the Chairman/Health Care Service Leader at the University of Vermont College of Medicine/Fletcher Allen Health Care in Burlington. Fletcher Allen is a 419 licensed bed, level one trauma center and Vermont’s academic and university medical center. There, advanced-level care is provided to a population of one million people from Vermont and northern New York Dr. Schapiro oversees 85 anesthesiologists, anesthetists, residents and pain fellows who offer the full spectrum of anesthesiology services in the system as well as all sedation cases He is the chair of the Faculty Practice Finance Committee, Treasurer of the Medical Staff and the Treasurer of the Vermont Medical Society. He has had the responsibility to help lead the installation of the current perioperative information system at FAHC Specifically, Dr. Schapiro’s is interested in the intersection of monitoring technology and electronic health records Additionally, Dr. Schapiro has interests in quality outcome databases and group practice finance.

Dr. Schapiro earned his medical degree at the University of Vermont College of Medicine and completed an Anesthesiology Residency at the Medical Center Hospital of Vermont, followed by a fellowship in Obstetric Anesthesiology at Columbia Presbyterian Medical Center in NYC.

Dr. Lawrence T. Goodnough, MD

Michael R. Cohen, RPh MS, ScD (hon.), DPS (hon.)

Michael R. Cohen, RPh, MS, ScD (hon.), DPS (hon.), is president of The Institute for Safe Medication Practices, a non-profit healthcare organization that specializes in understanding the causes of medication errors and providing error-reduction strategies to the healthcare community, policy makers, and the public. He is editor of the textbook, Medication Errors (2007 American Pharmaceutical Association) and serves as co-editor of the ISMP Medication Safety Alert! publications that reach over 2 million health professionals and consumers in the US, as well as regulatory authorities and others in over 30 foreign countries. He is editor for the ISMP consumer website, and writes a guest column calledCheck-Up that appears weekly on the Philadelphia Inquirer website. Dr. Cohen currently serves as Vice Chair of the Patient Safety Advisory Group for the Joint Commission (creates the National Patient Safety Goals) and serves as a consultant to FDA. In 2005 he was recognized as a MacArthur Fellow by the John D. and Catherine T. MacArthur Foundation. In 2008 The Joint Commission and National Quality Forum awarded Dr. Cohen the prestigious John M. Eisenberg Patient Safety and Quality Award in recognition of his life-long professional commitment to promoting safe medication use and a safe medication delivery system.