Recognizing Patient Safety Leaders


Awards to Recognize Action

Building, connecting, learning, and pushing for change.

Each year we recognize leaders in patient safety. As an organization that prides itself on taking action, our awards aren’t based on lifetime achievement. Our awards highlight people who are actively building, connecting, learning, expanding, and pushing for change.


Humanitarian Awards

These awards are given out each year and are selected by our Board of Directors. There are several different categories that help to ensure that we’re recognizing various types of people who are contributing to patient safety advancement.

Lewis Blackman Award

This award was established in 2020 on the 20th anniversary of Lewis Blackman’s death. This award recognizes outstanding student leadership to acknowledge that the future of patient safety will soon be dictated by the students of today.

The application period will open January 3, 2022.