Patient Safety Movement Foundation Hires New President; Names New Board Members

Irvine, CA

The Patient Safety Movement Foundation today named Jim Bialick as its new President. Bialick joins an expanded expert Board committed to reducing preventable hospital deaths to zero by 2020.

Bialick brings more than 10 years of nonprofit and legislative advocacy experience to the Patient Safety Movement. He has spent the last four years serving as the co-founder and executive director of the Newborn Foundation and Newborn Coalition in Washington, D.C., working to promote the use of health information technology to improve the quality and safety of healthcare for newborns domestically and internationally.

During his tenure with the Newborn Foundation and Newborn Coalition he successfully engaged in the drafting, advocacy, and passage of 27 state laws requiring newborn screening for congenital heart disease. Jim is a prolific speaker on the role consumer and medical technologies will play in improving patient safety and has testified before the U.S. House of Representatives twice on the issue.

“The Patient Safety Movement and its committed organizations have already made significant progress in improving patient safety and have saved hundreds of lives,” Bialick said. “By further developing our set of proven Actionable Patient Safety Solutions, and with an all-in approach from a growing list of partners, we look forward to eliminating preventable patient deaths.”

Bialick joins new members of the Patient Safety Movement’s Board:

Robin Betts, MBA-HM, RN
Assistant Vice President Quality & Patient Safety
 Intermountain Healthcare
Betts is the Assistant Vice President of Quality and Patient Safety for Intermountain Healthcare, a 22-hospital integrated system with 185 clinics, a medical group, and insurance company located in Utah and Idaho. In this role, Betts sets the vision for patient safety and quality for Intermountain Healthcare. She has responsibility to ensure system-wide compliance with applicable laws and regulations affecting quality and patient safety. She works closely with the organization’s vice president/chief nursing officer as well as directors of clinical programs and services to support innovation, promote best practice, implement standardized evidence-based practices, and drive data-driven quality and patient safety improvement across the organization.

Dr. Dave Mayer, MD,
Vice President, Quality and Safety, MedStar Health
Mayer is vice president of Quality and Safety for MedStar Health. He is responsible for overseeing the infrastructure for clinical quality and its operational efficiency for MedStar and each of its entities. Mayer also designs and directs system-wide activity for patient safety and risk reduction programs.

Charlie Miceli C.P.M. Vice President of Information Systems and Supply Chain for Fletcher Allen Health Care; CIO for OneCare Vermont Accountable Care Organization
Miceli has set the vision and mission for supply chain that has been ranked #1 and #2 by the University Health System Consortium in 2012 and 2013. The effectiveness of the supply chain has supported the clinical mission and operations of Fletcher Allen Healthcare, OneCare Vermont and Fletcher Allen Partners. The Information Systems operation has supported Fletcher Allen Health Care being recognized as a Most Wired organization in 2012 and 2013. Key accomplishments include sponsoring the successful integration of biomedical devices with the EPIC EHR, as well as championing interoperability of key clinical applications with EPIC (McKesson PACS).

Other Board members are: Joe Kiani, founder of the Patient Safety Movement Foundation, CEO of medical technology company Masimo, and recently named among “50 Experts Leading the Field of Patient Safety” by Becker’s Hospital Review; Dr. Michael A.E. Ramsay, MD, FRCA
Chairman, Department of Anesthesiology, Baylor University Medical Center &
 President, Baylor Research Institute, and creator of the Ramsay Sedation Scale; and Sheila Creal, immediate past-president of the Patient Safety Movement.

“I am truly happy to have Jim Bialick as the new president of the Patient Safety Movement,” said Joe Kiani, founder and Chairman of the Patient Safety Movement Foundation. “Jim’s proven leadership skills will be key to getting more medical technology companies to make pledges and more hospitals to make commitments to improve patient safety and save lives. Together with a stellar Board and Steering Committee members, as well as partners from industry, patient advocates, and government, we are confident we will eliminate preventable patient deaths by 2020.

“I also want to thank Sheila Creal for her amazing work as our past President. Her dedication and hard work have been among the great driving forces that have made the Patient Safety Movement what it is today. We look forward to her continuing to serve this movement as a board member,” Kiani added.

For more information about the Patient Safety Movement Foundation and its mission to eliminate preventable patient deaths by 2020, please visit

Media Contacts
Irene Mulonni, PR for Dolphins, [email protected] | (858) 859-7001